Camiguin issues new quarantine policy to act on new COVID-19 variant

CAMIGUIN, Jan. 8 (PIA)—To enforce the implementation of minimum public health standards and further protect the province especially from the new severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2) variant, the provincial government here issued Executive Order No. 66 or the new regular quarantine policy.

Effective January 8, Gov. Jurdin Jesus Romualdo said residents who depart from and stay outside the province for five days or less shall undergo quarantine for such period and at such place determined by the appropriate local health authority upon their return to the province.

“This applies even though they may have a negative COVID-19 reverse transcription polymerase chain reaction (RT-PCR) test result,” the governor added.

Residents and non-residents who wish to enter the province but are unable to secure a negative result of the RT-PCR test taken within 24 hours by a licensed testing facility, and exhibit symptoms of COVID-19, shall undergo quarantine for such period and place identified by the local health authority.

If a licensed testing facility is unable to release the results within 24 hours from the time the test was taken of individuals, who wish to enter the province and do not exhibit symptoms of COVID-19, the latter shall undergo quarantine until their result is released.

"What concerns us now is the speed by which this mutation is travelling around the globe because it is much faster than the arrival of long awaited COVID-19 vaccines to our shores. And just as when countries and parts of the Philippines were slowly opening their borders and easing restrictions, we are suddenly thrust back to closing our doors and windows again," Romualdo said. 

The Executive Order applies to residents of the province who depart from and then return to the province, and to non-residents who wish to enter Camiguin for essential or work-related purposes.

As of January 7, the province has recorded no COVID-19 confirmed case. There are 204 persons with a history of travel or COVID-19 exposure of which 147 are from Mambajao, 17 from Mahinog, 11 from Guinsiliban, 7 from Sagay, and 22 from Catarman. (RTP/PIA10)

Source: Philippines Information Agency (

Post a Comment