MILG grants incentives to performing LGUs, launches ‘Salamat Awards’

MARAWI CITY, Dec. 29— Some 118 Local Government Units (LGU) in the Bangsamoro region were granted with awards and incentives for their excellent performance for the year 2020.

Minister of Interior and Local Government Atty. Naguib Sinarimbo said this is through the Local Government Functional Appraisal Award (LoGFA) and Lupon Tagapamayapa Incentive Award (LTIA) of his ministry. 

The awarding ceremony was conducted on Friday, December 18, at the Shariff Kabunsuan Cultural Complex in Cotabato City.

51 LGUs from the provinces of Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi were awarded with the LoGFA, wherein each received Php200,000 and plaques of recognition.  LoGFA aims to define, operationalize, and assess the functionality of LGUs in the region.

Meanwhile, eight (8) barangays bagged the LTIA where the champion received Php125,000, first place with Php100,000, and Php75,000 for the second placer.

For the 4th-6th class category, Brgy. Kauran in Ampatuan, Maguindanao was declared as champion. First and second places were awarded, respectively, to Brgy. Mao in Datu Abdullah Sangki of the same province and to Brgy. Pindolonan in Buadiposo Bunting, Lanao del Sur.

For the 1st-3rd class category, the champion was Brgy. Rempes in Upi, Maguindanao, 1st and 2nd placers were Brgy. Cebuano Group in Wao, Lanao del Sur, and Brgy. Tumahubong in Sumisip, Basilan.

Brgy. Tumbras in Midsayap, North Cotabato received Php125,000 under the special geographic area category, while Brgy. Limo-ok in Lamitan City, Basilan also received the same prize under the city category.

Furthermore, Php20,000 each were also given to 10 barangays from the provinces of Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Basilan, Sulu, and the city of Lamitan for being regional finalists.

“This aims to recognize functional local governments and barangays whose ‘Lupon Tagapamayapa’ have excelled in settling disputes in their communities,” Sinarimbo said.

Special Anti-Drug Abuse Council Awards were also given to LGUs who sustained drug-cleared status of their drug-affected barangays and for maintaining a drug-free status of their unaffected barangays.

49 BARMM municipalities received the said award—25 awardees for sustaining drug cleared status of their drug-affected barangays and 24 for maintaining a drug free status for their unaffected barangays.

Aside from LGUs, MILG also gave recognition to CSOs who have been implementing interventions to drug-affected communities and contribute to the pursuit of a drug-free region. Awardees were Council of Sumisip Youth Leader, Kadtabangan Foundation for Peace and Development Advocates Inc. and Balay Mindanaw.

‘Salamat Award’ for LCEs

On the same day, MILG also launched its SEAL award (Salamat Excellence for Leadership Award), also known as ‘Salamat Award’, designed to recognize performing Local Chief Executives (LCE) in the BARMM.

Sinarimbo said the ‘Salamat Award’ is the most prestigious award that the region would undertake to recognize LCEs who show excellent performance.

“The award is named after the founding chair of the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) whose quality of leadership is astounding,” Sinarimbo said.

SEAL Program aims to contribute in the establishment of a Moral Governance in the BARMM by popularizing the principle of volunteerism and primary common good as demonstrated by Sheikh Salamat Hashim as key to regional peace and development.

The awarding ceremony for SEAL will be held next year where each awardee will be given a plaque of recognition, gold plated medallion worth Php250,000 and Php2.5 million worth of project.

Sinarimbo said it would also encourage local chief executives and leaders to embrace the principles of accountability, participatory and service-oriented leadership as key to local development; and instill in the heart and mind of leaders and communities the culture of patriotism and promotion of social responsibility. (BPI/PIA ICIC)

Source: Philippines Information Agency (

Post a Comment